Skip to content
January 19, 2011 / Brandon Raper

7 Reasons Not To Use Tweetbig

After a recent stint with using the Twitter application Tweetbig, I have found multiple reasons as to why this application is a waste of time. Let’s start the countdown!tweet big logo

1. Queue Lines: Everytime you request to follow someone new they are added into a queue. This line takes up hours and hours of time to finish and really halters your progression to increase followers. According to my calculations with my personal twitter page (http://www.twitter.com/smobrandon) it took about 5-10 minutes to follow one person.

2. Follow Timebomb: This option is suppose to unfollow people once they haven’t followed you back for a certain amount of days. The problem is…it doesn’t. It provides you with a list of people that haven’t followed you back and then puts them into ANOTHER queue to unfollow. These lines make me want to vomit.

3. Followback %: This “equation” is no algorithm. It’s simply how many people a certain person is following compared to how many are following them. Say someone has 200 friends, but are following 23,000…Tweetbig says they will almost certainly follow you back. Pretty good math there eh?

4. Piggyback: So the main function for following usChildCocaineers is called “Piggyback”. You list people on Twitter that you feel are similar to yourself, or that you’d like to be like. That being said, once you list them, they list who their followers are. That’s it…no equation here again. If you list Justin Bieber, you will be flooded with pre-teen girls. If you list Rush Limbaugh…shoot yourself.

5. Analytics: This is the hot spot for social media. You HAVE to have a way to measure what you’re doing with your time and why it is important for either yourself of your business. The analytics provided are as simple as “Followers on this date” and “Followers on this date”. The problem is these analytics are updated DAILY. Not hourly, not every 15 minutes, DAILY.

6. Cost: $17.99 a month is ridiculous. Maybe if there were some better algorithm’s used to help you target certain users that are relevant to you, it may be worth it. Maybe if analytics updated in real time it’d be worth it. But none of these things occur. You put followers into huge queues and wait for hours for it to lower.

7. Canceling your subscription: Holy cow could this be any more impossible? I looked on my login page, I looked on my account, I looked in their FAQ, looked at terms of service. NOTHING. Oh wait there’s one sentence in FAQ that says check your email about your billing. Go to your billing email (If you even have it) and it says nothing. Go to customer service support page and you have to put in a support ticket to get your subscription canceled. You finally get a confirmation email…but it’s not that your account is closed. No no, that’d be too easy. It says “may take up to two business days to process”. What is this a bank?! If you take the 7 day trial for $1, you better make sure you make a decision quick…and not over the weekend.

All in all…Tweetbig got me hundreds of followers within days. Was it time consuming…absolutely, did it save me time if I would have done it another way, sure. I may have added hundreds of friends but none of them are targeted at all. I have no idea who they are or where they’re from, and I guess that’s ok from an influential aspect. My rating for TweetBig is…

20 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. James R. Clawson / Jan 21 2011 1:29 PM

    Hi Brandon
    I’ll be sure not to use tweet big. Looks like you did a great job of researching.
    Thanks
    Jim

    • Brandon Raper / Jan 21 2011 5:57 PM

      Hey James,
      Thanks for the response. I put quite a lot of time into not only researching it through my own personal use, but also searching up other tweetbig reviews and seeing what their responses are. Let me know if you find any valuable Twitter applications and I’ll have to try them out.

  2. Haomin Yan / Mar 16 2011 8:51 PM

    I tried Tweetbig and I kind like its panel’s design, and I wrote an review about it. If you are interested in what its control panel looks like, please come to visit my blog at: http://max-answer.blogspot.com/2011/03/want-more-followers-you-must-see-this.html

  3. Clink / Aug 3 2011 6:26 PM

    I use Tweetbig and enjoy the simplicity and powerful features, a lot of which you do not mention. However, my comment here addresses the queue in which followers/unfollowers are placed and the time frame involved. Twitter has a policy concerning aggressive following and will suspend your accounts when their bots discover such activity. Due to the fact that Tweetbig allows the maximum 1000 selections, Tweetbig circumvents this issue by delaying the follow/unfollow queue, doing you a favor so your account falls within Twitter guidelines.The software is intelligent with this and other features. Personally, I highly recommend the software. Visit my personal review at: http://affiliatecaster.com/2011/05/30/tweetbigreview for an in-depth view of all it’s features.

    Regards:
    William

  4. Paul Bakker / Aug 29 2011 7:29 AM

    I have to agree with the author of this post. On the targets and subjects I’m looking for I get loads of people that have 4000% refollow stats (Pure math division) and they are mostly spam accounts.. I don’t want to follow those and especially not auto-follow them whenever they follow me.. That would create an even more horrific twitterfeed…

    • Brandon Raper / Aug 29 2011 9:14 PM

      Thanks Paul, good to hear someone has the same outlook! The weird part is, I stopped my account months ago and I’m still auto-following people somehow. I have no twitter management tool that has this option currently, but tweetbig continues to auto-follow people for me.

  5. Matt / Sep 24 2011 4:12 AM

    I had a look at tweetbig but then decided to do it myself, i.e. build a set of bots … one to search for potential people to follow based on keywords e.g. “funny” because my website is about funny stuff, one to follow anyone that has been identified and not already followed, one to unfollow anyone not following me after 30 days. Not sure if I want to auto-follow everyone but will write one of those if I decide to.
    Sounds like it’s along the same lines of tweetbig, obviously not as mature yet.
    I agree $17.99 is too much.
    If I built a website around what I’m suggesting above, how much would you be prepared to pay for it? $10? $5? $1/mth? I thought about doing it and making it completely free but then I have to cover my own costs too.
    My account is @twitautopilot if anyone is interested and wants to find out more. Only follow if you’re interested though. I’m not trying to build numbers on this account so won’t follow back here 🙂

  6. tysmarketingblog Johnson / Oct 10 2011 12:25 AM

    I have to disagree I love tweet big. I think the keyword search is what you would want to use if you are trying to tarket people in you niche.

    I mean the thing goes out and finds people for you to follow that are tweeting about the same keyword you enter. I am not really sure how you can get much closer to targeting people….Google uses key words in much the same way to connect web surfers to the content they are looking for.

    the piggy back should be used in conjuction with people from your keywords list. In other words you add people that you already follow to the piggy back tool so you can follow the people following the people that you’re following…I agree with the tracker it is simple and basic but then again it is not really tracking much it’s just showing you how many followers you get every day…

    As far as the queue goes once you add someone to the queue it will follow them even if you log off.

    Ty Johnson
    http://www.tyreen.com coming nov 1, 2011

    • Brandon Raper / Oct 10 2011 12:26 PM

      Most of the options you described are built in to Twitter naturally. Keyword search for example, may not be as efficient on the Twitter site, but is still available. There are just so many other applications that do what Tweetbig does more efficiently and with better measurables and metrics. For the casual Twitter user the trial is fine, but I could never justify purchasing a subscription.

      Let me know when your blog is up and running though, I’m always interested in other perspectives.

      • tysmarketingblog Johnson / Oct 10 2011 5:10 PM

        I would love to know which application does the same and is better. Now that would be good news!

      • Brandon Raper / Oct 10 2011 5:36 PM

        I personally use a combination of free services. For targeting qualified followers I use Tweepi.com. I wrote a review for the site on this blog as well. They have a premium service but the free one does everything I need. For statistics I use SocialBro. The amount of information you can gain from that application is unreal. Then for scheduling tweets and my favorite, receiving recommendations on who to follow based on Klout score, I use crowdbooster.com. All of them are free and do everything Tweetbig does but more efficiently. Hope these help!

  7. Max / Oct 24 2011 9:11 AM

    Hello Brandon, you really helped me with this article because the first thing I did when I finished reading it was cancel my subscription to TweetBig! I have one question for you, though. After canceling your subscription, did you eventually have to pay the $17.99 or did they just cancel it? I’m new to subscribing to something and having to pay for it.
    So I just filled in a ticket like you described, simply saying ”I want to cancel my Tweetbig subscription”.
    I hope that’s enough.. Is it enough? Please reply when you can, I really don’t feel like paying $18…

    Great article.

  8. Max / Oct 24 2011 1:35 PM

    Another reason not to use TweetBig:
    TweetBig let’s you follow only 380 people per day, whereas the actual following-limit is 1,000 people per day…

  9. tysmarketingblog Johnson / Oct 24 2011 3:14 PM

    thats true but the unfollow limit is 400 per day and since you can only follow 10% more people than are following you after you reach 2000 followed there is good reason they only follow 380 per day. They do that to protect you from being blacklisted. Just be carefull if you start to follow/unfollow in bulk regardless of which site(s) you use to manage twitter.

  10. Andres A. / Nov 23 2011 1:56 PM

    I have been use it since 5 months ago, and it has been very useful, thanks to that, about 70% of the traffic of my website comes from it. Anyway, everybody has its own likes.
    Thanks.

  11. Roger / Dec 4 2011 9:32 AM

    Piggybacking is an extremly powerful tool. Pointing back to your reference of Bieber, if my target audience is pre-teen girl because I’m selling something to that audience. That I immensely valuable. That is targeting at its best

  12. dustysage / Dec 9 2011 1:57 PM

    Looks like TweetBig has been suspended by Twitter and hasn’t been working for weeks. But they are still charging my credit card!

    • Brandon Raper / Dec 9 2011 2:12 PM

      Wow…I’m really not surprised it was suspended but for them to continue with bad business practices like charging you for the service is outrageous. Keep an eye out everyone.

  13. nathalie / Jan 14 2012 8:07 PM

    Thanks Brandon for pointing out SocialBro-awesome tool!

  14. ellenfinkl / Dec 8 2012 10:00 PM

    Brandon,
    You said that you use Tweepi for targeting, SocialBro for statistics, and Crowdbooster for scheduling, but what do you use for auto-following?

Leave a Reply

